This will be an introduction to my oatmeal escapades. While some may see this as taking an “easy way out”, I wanted to give you all a glimpse as to how I usually do this.

Going forward, more “dangerous” combinations will ensue. I have visions of cereals, granola bars, candy bars and all sorts of random things cooking in my morning oats.

I’m getting ahead of myself, though. Without further ado, let’s get started!

For everything, I start with 2/3- 1 cup of instant oatmeal. Why you ask? I’m impatient! From there, I start painting on my blank canvas. For “My Usual”, I do something like this:

  • 2/3 Cup of Instant Oats
  • 1 TBSP Crunchy Natural Peanut Butter
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger

This has been my go to for years. I’ve explored some variation, but again, those are nothing special. Bananas, plain greek yogurt, rice chex. I keep it pretty plain.

How’d It Go? 

As my usual, I have a complete bias towards this. The oatmeal provides a warm, creamy texture that I’m used to, while the crunchy peanut butter adds a salty change of pace, away from smooth. The peanut butter also melts away, spreading  the oatmeal. The spices, as long as I don’t overdo it, just add to the experience.

Would I do it again?

Of course I will! Like I mentioned though, exploration will soon begin for greater things.

What did you think of the review? Give the recipe a shot, and let me know what you thought in the comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

